Yes, and…

danceatsunsetweb

Today’s art: The Dance at Sunset, 24″ x 24″, Oil on Canvas, Available
Today’s Soundtrack: Irresistible Bliss, Chris Botti

“Nothing you become will disappoint me; I have no preconception that I’d like to see you be or do. I have no desire to forsee you, only to discover you. You can’t disappoint me.” ~ Mary Haskell

Happy Mother’s Day! I am without my daughter today. It was my decision. We just spent two weekends in a row together. She’s attending college 200 miles from home. When I made the decision not to take the trek back to see her for yet another weekend, it was a practical one. Last night, I started to regret that choice. We have never been apart on this day. It’s one of  those things one doesn’t think about while making practical decisions. I was feeling a little blue about it last night, but this morning I started to think of the things I’m grateful for and the sadness was replaced.

I was also greeted with several text messages from the lovely, brilliant, and wonderful women I used to work with. We have many things in common, motherhood among them.

My role as mother is mostly complete. I am needed only in moments of indecision and sorrow. And even then, I refuse to provide answers. I only ask her questions. And it is very infrequent. For this I am grateful. It means I successfully taught her some coping skills. And as I learn how to navigate my success, I am still teaching her. The means is exclusively by example and this is the very best method of teaching a young adult,  in my opinion.

She has taught me some lovely things, too. In her education of improv comedy, she shared a philosophy. It is “Yes, and.” It propels and layers the skit with whatever that thing is that happens when people have a common goal. I always liken it to body heat: The sum is greater than the individual parts. “Yes, and” acknowledges the other person and adds to their thought. I’ve incorporated it into my own life. It’s a lovely way to connect with someone. Especially, if you are working with someone you generally struggle with. It opens up cooperation, respect, acknowledgement, and more. And it’s even better with someone you love.

So, my suggestion for today is to give “Yes, and..” a go.
You’ll have so much more fun.

: )

It’s your day. Go get it.

Namaste,

With love,

Pamela

I am grateful today for my strong, smart and beautiful daughter, my freedom, my autonomy, my house, my loving heart.

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

2 responses to “Yes, and…

Leave a Reply

