Tenaciousness

375_1101431298226_9248_n

Today’s art: Borrowed Heart, 24″ x 24″, Oil on Canvas, Sold
Today’s SoundtrackTill I Collapse, Eminem

“Character consists of what you do on the third and fourth tries.” ~James A. Michner

Dr. Suess’ Cat in the Hat was rejected 27 times before acceptance. That, my friends, would be an example of tenacity.
Where does tenacity come from? Sometimes we learn how far we can go because circumstances force us. But for those times when the incentive must come from within, where does that tenacity come from?

I have very defined passions. I sing, I write songs, I paint, I’m in love. I have a life that is very rich. I am so fortunate. I wasn’t always so. I came to believe things about myself that weren’t true. I can look at my life pre-soul flight (my new name for my mid-life crisis as it is much more fitting) and tell you that very little of that old life remains. One of the single most important things I changed was taking responsibility for my life. I have the power to make it whatever I want it to be. I needed to support my body and brain, I needed to recognize destructive thinking and like most things that you work on, one rolls into another. One positive creates a step for the next move. It’s the build. The snowball effect.

The prescription is simple:

Eat healthy, clean food.
Exercise
Talk sweetly to yourself
Be kind to everyone you meet
Smile at strangers
Break the habit of complaining
Refrain from gossip
Make a gratitude list daily
Spend time with kind, strong, successful, optimistic people
Limit time with negative people
Dare to dream
Limit or remove alcohol and other mood altering substances
Calmly, logically, and purposefully stand up for yourself

That’s it. No one who is depressed is doing everything on this list.

How does one get started? Baby steps. Just start. All tenaciousness begins at the beginning.

: )

It’s your day. Go get it.

Namaste,

With love,

Pamela

I am grateful today for my backyard, my willingness to embrace technology, this beautiful sunny day, my studio, my Guapo.

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

