I’ve Been Talking to Myself…

Decidedly Comfortable, 3.5" x 2.5", Oil on Canvas by Pamela Devine

Today’s art: Decidedly Comfortable, 3.5″ x 2.5″, Miniature Oil on Canvas, By Pamela Devine – Available
Today’s Soundtrack: Pocket Full of Sunshine, Natasha Bedingfield

“It’s the repetition of affirmations that leads to belief. And once that belief becomes a
deep conviction, things begin to happen.” – Claude M. Bristol

That’s right. I talk  to myself. If you’re honest, you know you do, too.

Whether it’s out loud or not is a whole other topic. One perhaps for another blog post. : )

Shortly after I began my Soul Flight I was challenged to pay attention to the things I was saying to myself. Specifically, negative self talk. It was then suggested I stop myself and replace the thought with a positive present tense affirmation.

I was astonished at the number of times during the day I berated myself. I wouldn’t let anyone talk to me the way I was talking to myself. It only took a couple of days of active awareness to learn I was really hurting myself. It had become a very bad habit. I ordered myself to shut down the negative talk the moment I recognized it, which was right about the time I was starting to feel really crappy about myself. Sometimes, I literally had to say “STOP” out loud. As the old saying goes, I was my worst enemy.

The next step to this challenge was to replace the negative idea with a present tense positive. This is a new way of thinking about things, too. One that takes a bit of consideration. I wrote out, and continue to write out, present tense affirmations to have at the ready when my confidence wanes.

Here are some present tense affirmations I use. They may not be for true at this very moment, but by presenting them to myself this way, it gives my mind and subconscious an expectation, a direction in which to go.

  • I am healthy and strong
  • I have finished my debut CD and I am proud of it
  • I am at my goal weight
  • My work outs are productive and satisfying
  • I market myself effortlessly
  • I enjoy networking and connect with the new friends I make

These are just an example to get you started. I suggest you write out your own list. Possibly put it in your wallet or hang it on your bathroom mirror. Look at it daily. Initially several times a day. If you’d like, post your list in the comments section of this post.

: )

It’s your day. Go get it.

Namaste,

With love,
Pamela

I am grateful today for the one who I love most, the drive I have to be an entrepreneur, for the musical gifts I am given, for the coffee I’m drinking, and for my active calendar.

If you enjoyed this post, please enjoy the archived posts, share on Twitter and Facebook, follow this blog, and/or consider purchasing some of
my art.
About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

