On the Other Side of the Plateau

daisyheart

Today’s art: Daisy Heart, 20″” x 16″, Oil on Canvas, Print Available
Today’s Soundtrack: Mr. Tang (Live), Rodrigo Y Gabriela

The dream begins with a teacher who believes in you, who tugs and pushes and leads you to the next plateau, sometimes poking you with a sharp stick called truth.”
~ Dan Rather

I’ve only admitted it to two people. Until now…

About 6 weeks ago, I hit a plateau with my weight loss. I just had hit a 100 pound weight loss mark. I worked hard to achieve it, but it didn’t seem like work. I was determined and I was enamored with my elliptical sessions. I found them to be incredibly cathartic. I remember thinking, why hasn’t anyone ever explained to me that if I just did a 60 minute elliptical session, I’ll spend the energy that I turn into worry and release myself of it? Walk out of the gym clear headed? Calm? With a new focus on the path?

Let me tell you it can do this for you.

But then I hit 100 pounds. I suddenly wanted to stop. Stop everything. Stop the merry-go-round. I wanted to get off. I was suddenly overwhelmed. Even so, I did not stop exercising. I continued to eat healthy. I knew I was in a vulnerable position. I knew those things were supporting my body and my mind. I needed them. But still, the thing that made me obese in the first place was there, reminding me that there was going to be a battle and it had always had it’s way in the past.

I stopped losing weight.

I never ate more than 1000 calories in a day, usually more like 850. I continued to exercise but was barely breaking into a sweat. “That thing,” literally halted my weight loss.

Those in the weight loss world call this a plateau. My body had become accustomed to my low caloric intake and my daily exercise routine. It had adjusted to it and determined that my metabolism needed to slow down for my survival sake. In addition to this, the repetition of the elliptical was causing my hips to ache and they were not recovering by the next day and were worse after the next session. I had to find an alternative to the elliptical.

In the mean time, I expressed my concern to my partner. He is exceptional at this sort of thing. He has been in recovery for his own “thing” for over 30 years. The moment I mentioned a lack of motion, he wanted me to look inward. To be honest about what was causing the plateau, to own it and take responsibility for it.

That, is some tough love. Just as it always is when he dispenses this sort of advice, I hear it, am taken aback by the starkness of it, I shrink a little, and go off by myself to contempt exactly what he meant.

This is what I learned. While I was supporting myself physically, I accept I had let doubt and fear creep into my mind. That I had not stayed focused on my goals. I now realize that doubt and fear are the pushers of “my thing.” Everything swells from there.

I’m happy to report I have worked through it and am back on track. : D

And ultimately the prescription is simple.

  • Imagine your dreams
  • Rename them goals
  • Create a plan of action
  • Set deadlines
  • Achieve

Implementing this will help you have a plan when your “thing” crops up. It’s also important to have someone in your life who has been through his or her own “thing” and will support you and cheer you on.

: )

It’s your day. Go get it.

Namaste,

With love,
Pamela

I am grateful today for the support I have from my partner, my dreams and goals, for my tiny house, for my strong legs, for my writing skills.

If you enjoyed this post, please enjoy the archived posts, share on Twitter and Facebook, follow this blog, and consider purchasing some of
my art. : )
About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

One response to “On the Other Side of the Plateau

Leave a Reply

