It’s a Matter of Discipline…Or Is It?

daliToday’s art: Surreal: When the Artist Becomes the Art, 24″ x 24″, Acrylic on Canvas, Available
Today’s Soundtrack: What a Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong

The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion.” ~Albert Camus

Ever since the results of my Soul Fight have become obvious, I have had the word “disciplined” attached to me. At first, I shrugged it off. No need to argue, assume it’s a compliment, and say thank you. : ) But as I started to hear it more and more, I became uncomfortable. I did not want to be associated with such a term.

I finally had to ask myself why. Being disciplined is a quality people aspire to be. They want to understand how one achieves it. They understand it is an integral key to success. They mean as a compliment. As a compliment similar to the ones I get for my art and music. Either you have it or you don’t. Like it’s some unachievable brass ring they could never reach.

Guess what? Discipline is not difficult. In fact, it’s been so easy that I didn’t initially believe that I had earned such a label. That label was reserved for people who wake up at crack of dawn, exercise daily, are focused on their goals and are successful in career and life. Then it hit me. That’s me! What? How did this happen? I’m disciplined? Wow! It’s a miracle! : )

It really boils down to a few simple instructions. Really.

  • If you have dreams, and please tell me you have dreams, you can make them your goals.
  • Have an emotional reason for your goal. This is the best motivator.
  • Be specific. In his book, Burn the Fat, Build the Muscle, Tom Venuto writes if you were the captain of ship, you would not plan your journey by simply saying you’re heading west. If you did, you would aimlessly travel the sea without getting to any special destination. Instead, you would have a latitude and longitude and a map with a very specific end point. Do that.
  • Have deadlines attached to your goals. We have to have them in order to keep goals a priority and to keep them in focus. It also assists in deflecting distractions, both good and bad.
  • Set a schedule with your deadlines in mind.

Discipline has a recipe. This is basically it. Set up goals for everything you want. Whether it be career, fitness, social, spiritual or a hobby. Be defined about what you want and proceed from there.

: )

It’s your day. Go get it.

Namaste,

With love,
Pamela

I am grateful today for the love I have for my partner, for the work in progress on my easel, for the joy in my heart, for the man who repaired my lawn mower!, for my curiosity .

 

If you enjoyed this post, please enjoy the archived posts, share on Twitter and Facebook, follow this blog,and consider purchasing some of my art. : )
About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

