Diva is as Diva does…

I didn’t sleep a wink last night.

Too much coffee along with much contemplation.

I got into two unhappy discussions online yesterday. When I told a musician who had invited me to an open mic he was hosting, that I didn’t like going to open mics because I struggle to hear myself, he took it personally. I didn’t say that he was the problem, but that’s how he took it. I tried to calmly explain my position, but it ended with him saying, “Everyone told me what a difficult diva you are and boy were they right!” I could see he was going into abuse mode, so I told him I would not continue. I pride myself on fighting fair, even when the other does not. I owe it to my ancestors who gave me a decent IQ. After looking up the word, Diva, you know what? I’ll take it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ef4/37243136/files/2015/01/img_6947.jpg

The other was a young woman I have never met who adamantly opposed my using the word “slavery” in association with addiction. I think addiction in all its forms is a type of slavery. I told her I would not reframe my use of it and that I would continue to connect those two concepts. She called me disgusting and ignorant. It was so over the top, I unceremoniously deleted her comments and her. It was an accusation that could only have been made by someone who doesn’t really know me.

Also, I am positive neither of these two would have said these things had we been face to face. You don’t have to look me in the eye when you insult me. I don’t have tone of voice, body language, or gesture to help with the interpretation.

I’m also reminded I just can’t make everyone happy. Especially when they want something and I tell them they are not going to get what they came to me for.

Let’s be kind to each other today.

Namaste, my friends.

Love,
Pamela

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

