Here, on the moon.

I am on the moon.
I look at the earth.
It looks just as you have seen in photographs.
It is breathtaking and indescribably beautiful.

I have traveled here with intent.
Perhaps not to be on the moon specifically,
but to go a great distance,
to travel and see where I would land.

I sit here sifting moon dust through my fingers.
I look at the earth and know, I can never go back.
When I started this journey, I was so excited about my flight
I just jumped up and took off.

It never occurred to me I would turn around,
look back at were I had been
and see I had traveled here all alone.

There’s no one here with me on the moon.
This solitude is startling.
But I can’t go back.
I have to keep traveling.

I have no idea where I will end up.
The fear is ebbing away.

I believe I will find others out here like me.

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

3 responses to “Here, on the moon.

Leave a Reply

