I talk sweetly to myself

I like to remind people to talk sweetly to themselves. So often we don’t. We say things to ourselves we would never say to another person.
Mean things. Defeating things. Things with impunity.

When I challenged myself to simply acknowledge when I was talking cruelly to myself, I was shocked at how abusive I really was. No one spoke to me as abusively as I did. I would not accept such talk from another. I would turn and walk away.

So, I made it a point to acknowledge the insult, stop myself from continuing, and replace it with something kind. I’ve been doing this for a while now. I still have to stop myself, but not nearly as frequently.

I like myself so much better. 🙂

I’ve recently had to admit I’ve found myself in a friendship where I have been insulted in ways that are not acceptable. I have made rationalizations for his behavior. I told myself he didn’t mean it the way it came out. That it is a response to his fear. That in a few days he will regret it. All of this maybe true. However, it doesn’t negate the fact that he chose to say it.

I talk sweetly to myself. When others choose to not talk sweetly, or at least politely, to me I will do what I did to myself. End the conversation.
Turn from the negative, replace with a positive.

Should the person choose to speak kindly to me, he will have my attention once more.

I know what I’m worth.

Namaste, my friends.

Love,
Pamela

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

