Fear or excitement?

2015/01/img_7047.jpg

So lately, I’ve been pretty petrified. I’ve taken on enormous projects that logical people might not. I found that all the little incremental steps have collectively propelled me farther than I have ever been.

I heard it this way: when you first start out, it feels like everything you do is just sliding into a black hole. It’s very difficult to see your progress when it isn’t measurable in an obvious way, like if you could point to money, for example.

I have been slogging away, doing the things I said I was going to do, bit by bit. I will periodically get evidence I’m making progress when I get a message from a respected acquaintance who shares they enjoy my music. When I meet someone who says they know of my work. When I’m asked to participate in an event. Progress is being made. The black hole is filling.

It’s a good thing success happens incrementally. It gives you a chance to catch up with yourself. To consider what needs to happen next. To calm your fears, or to simply accept them.

My friend Said the other day, it’s so easy to turn your fear into excitement. She’s right.

Then I remembered this:
If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough.

Here’s to living out of my comfort zone!

Namaste, my friends.

Love,
Pamela

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

2 responses to “Fear or excitement?

Leave a Reply

