The picture window.



I use to stand in front of that big picture window. The driveway was on the left side of the house and my dad would back out and wave to me as he passed by on his way to work. He traveled a lot. When I was 7 my mother left my dad, my two older brothers, and me. I had always been a daddy’s girl, but after she left, I clung to him more tightly. 

One day, my dad left for a trip. He was distracted and forgot to wave to me. I was hysterical. I collapsed into a ball on the floor. I was sure he was never coming back and we hadn’t had a proper goodbye. I was completely unconsolable. 

The report he got over my anguish must have been very serious, because he never drove down the street without waving again, whether he knew someone was watching or not. 

I still remember how I felt that day.

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

