The demand.

In 2009 I had two jobs and was working a 48 hour week. In one of my offices, the desk was a bit too high, maybe 2 inches. After a time, it made my right shoulder and upper arm wretchedly sore. I had chiropractic treatments, I did stretches, and I had massages. Nothing helped. I was taking a lot of ibuprofen. I was pretty sure one of the jobs was going to have to go. 

Then I had a final massage. The massage therapist was determined to help. This was literally her last massage before going off to grad school to begin a Phd program in physical therapy. She told me she was going deep and it would hurt. She told me to breathe deep. She dug her thumb in my upper arm and slowly drew it from shoulder to elbow. It was torture. This went on for forty minutes. Then she demanded that it was time to move. I agreed. I gave myself permission to let go. Suddenly, there was a release. A rush of movement in my shoulder. Like the flow of blood was finally moving again. It tingled. It felt like lightness. It felt like magic. I knew I was going to be okay.

I felt this again tonight. Not in my arm. In my soul. I’m flowing. I’m flying. I know exactly what to do. 

Namaste, my friends.

Love,

Pamela

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

