The presentation

Last night we saw a young blues musician at the Beale Street Music Festival who was a very good guitar player and a fine singer. His songs were strong. I couldn’t help but compare him to my friend Jeremiah, who is also an up and coming musician. One I fully expect to be invited to this festival with a two years time. I think musically they are very similar. One thing I appreciate about Jeremiah is he loves performing. He loves his audience. His joy is infectious. 

It got me thinking about my own presentation. Since I’ve been performing my original music live, I have been uncomfortable. I forgive myself this because it’s scary to present this art. It’s painfully personal, it’s my composition, arrangement and production. There’s no one to blame if it sucks. It matters to me in such a big way. 

But, I’ve been performing like this young blues guy. Technically accurate. 

The words of my art professor from last semester have been running through my head most of this semester:

“Be playful.”

I have to allow myself fun. If I don’t, there’s really no point to this.

Our joy radiates. A happy person literally radiates energy for many feet around her. This energy has the power to impact others. 

Today, I am going to be playful. 🙂 

Namaste, my friends.

Love, 

Pamela

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

