Fair warning: this is a feminist post

Smile!

This is a demand that men say to women. More specifically, it’s something a man says to a woman he sees as a subordinate. Usually, someone he finds attractive. 

My daughter recently brought it up. It really bums her out. It got me thinking. If I had a penny for all the times I been given the “smile” command from a man, I’d have a sizable savings. 

I’ve been really thinking about the way men view woman lately. It seems, and even at a very young age, boys and men view girls and women beneath them. 

It might start with sports. Coach yells, “Ladies! Let’s go!” As though it’s the biggest insult in the world to be called a lady. That offends me. Why do male coaches do that? 

Lately, I can’t get past how many woman I know who, if not sexual abused as a child, have been raped as an adult. Some of them raped by a man they trusted. Who she thought loved her. 

For this woman, for any woman, how is she suppose to address this demand?

Smile! 

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

2 responses to “Fair warning: this is a feminist post

  • evelinamarie

    I find the iconic “eat shit and die” smirk tends to work well in these situations

    • PamelaDevine

      LOL. I reserve that one for the vulgar references. So often the woman is trapped at work and can not respond in any other way than politely.

      I use to ignore it and say, “Hey, how’s it going?” I do think it’s an uncreative segway to conversation sometimes. It’s meant to be innocent enough. Yet, it’s part of a bigger picture in the way men view women. I’m growing weary of it.

Leave a Reply

