My heart…

  

I protect my heart.

It has been so broken

that the pieces had to be swept up,

tenderly collected, 

and stored in a soft cotton bag.

The bag was placed inside a jewelry box

in the old cedar trunk

up in the attic

next to other things

I was not sure what to do with.

It tried to mend.

By mostly, it slept,

there in the dark.

After many years,

I heard you

quietly whisper.

It was my name.

And with the sound,

blood flowed,

and hope,

and joy,

but mostly, 

love.

And my heart awoke.

It had ever beat so loud.

And I saw through your eyes

your vision of me.

You believed in me.

And I began to believed too.

As I started to soar, 

I turned to you 

and you were gone.

And all that height frighten me.

I looked at my heart

And remembered why it had broken

All those years ago.

And I cried many tears.

There are more to come.

There is a reason the whisper of your voice 

woke my bent and broken heart.

You were the only one who ever held it

With sweetness and light.

I’m grateful I know 

what that feels like.

About PamelaDevine

Pamela Devine is a singer songwriter, fine artist, and filmmaker. View all posts by PamelaDevine

Leave a Reply

